Sapphire

 

 

Image may contain: 1 person, playing a musical instrument and guitar

 

 

ARIEL to Miranda: Take

This slave of music for the sake

Of him who is the slave of thee;

And teach it all the harmony

In which thou canst and only thou

Make the delighted spirit glow

Till joy denies itself again

And too intense is turn’d to pain.

 

When first we touched, you smelt of smoke,

Of one-night bars and ice.

Your perfect hollowness, as though

It echoes even mine.

That gentle protest as I stroke

Your neck; and when you bite

My fingertips and moan: I know.

Our hips and waists align.

These wires, I could strangle you,

So artful, leaning in,

I pace my breath. You’ll hurt me, too.

Hold tight, as we begin.

 

 

I called my new guitar Sapphire for a number of reasons: knowing full well that it could be the name of a good time girl somewhere in Florida. 

 

 

One thought on “Sapphire

  1. Dear James This is delightful, full of images and sounds. Bravo! But I have not yet heard you. Good to think we will be seeing you soon. Much love, Gran

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

