Cider

 

 

Teetering over, you brought on a broad tray

Three cylinders of sun: all dancing deep

In their glasses, with your every eager step,

Before you laid,

 

As summer’s gift, the golden offering down.

Mine stood, tall as a sky, scintillating

With sweet promise: sun-dazed, I took her waist,

My gentle one,

 

Her body cool as the lake we gazed across:

And lingering, at last, she kissed my lips,

A soft breeze through my teeth, my breath: one gasp

Of paradise.

One thought on “Cider

  1. Dear James What a lovely moment in time. With Ed and Laura we went to the French Food Fair in Sandwich on Saturday and chose from a tempting list of ciders Elderflower Cider which was delicious. So I feel very in tune with your poem. Thanks, love from us both, Gran

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

