I’m losing him to the night

 

 

I’m losing him to the night. These last

Few days looked up, found they were months.

Each time the door was shut behind,

Shook the house like a final word,

Each night.

 

A little of me leaves each time he leaves.

Some measure of me stays, brews the pot,

Sits tight for an approaching wind

Of my own imaginings.

 

I know it’s just me. I know it’s just me.

How could it be, each and every time,

That he is truly gone.

 

It’s only me. I know, it’s only me

Alone with my long-stewed tea.

 

It cannot be, I’m losing him to the night.

 

 

Leave a Reply

