Half Rhymes to my Nemesis

 

sherlock nemesis.jpg

 

The basis of all lasting loves is, of course,

The sense of danger.

 

I place my piece on the checkered board,

You cast your wager;

 

Keep me on my toes, poised in position

For a moment’s threat,

 

Held tight in the throes of anticipation,

A grasping breath.

 

And so, I treat you as my one

Nemesis; and like all true

 

Nemeses, I dedicate my soul,

My waking life to you.

 

Sparring partner, my opponent.

I stake my claim,

 

For all I am, every waking moment

In our lovers’ game.

 

I second-guess you, test my chances

As a doubter

 

Too wary not throw spilt salt behind

His own left shoulder;

 

A grown man who still dare not glance

In a darkened room,

 

Held by your menace, there; thrilled by

Your next move.

 

 

For Blair. Keep me on my toes. 

Art by “Hoo0”: http://www.deviantart.com/art/Sherlock-Moriarty-293702850; http://hoo0.deviantart.com/

Leave a Reply

