Truly Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

 

Alternative ending to Robert Frost’s poem, based on the notion of hypothermia. Stopping by woods, forever. 

 

 

Whose woods these are I think I know.

His house is in the village though;

He will not see me stopping here

To watch his woods fill up with snow.

 

My little horse must think it queer

To stop without a farmhouse near

Between the woods and frozen lake

The darkest evening of the year.

 

He gives his harness bells a shake

To ask if there is some mistake.

The only other sound’s the sweep

Of easy wind and downy flake.

 

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,

And so, these promises I keep

I may let lie, while I desire

To forest’s night of snow and sleep.

 

I’ll make for me a simple fire,

Perhaps, sole comfort I’ll require,

While all the night these shadow call

Me to retire, and to retire,

 

So cold that man can scarcely crawl:

For sleep’s the easiest of all.

And dreams in snow so sweetly fall,

And dreams in snow so sweetly fall.

2 thoughts on “Truly Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

  1. Dear James One of my all-my-life-favourite poems by RF, and now I have forever in my mind what he could have gone on to say had it been appropriate to him then. I feel it is an parallel poem to The Road Not Taken (wriitten almost as a gentle joke or probe to Edward Thomas).

    Lovely, thoughtful, could be satirical as could be The Road…. , maybe the fear behind the silence and emptiness of the landscape, both loved and feared? Oh! Full of ideas and and decisions to be made. Wish you were here to chat about it. Anyway we loved your poem and RF’s too. Deceptively simple.

    Xxxxxxx gran

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Thank you so much, the original is real favourite of mine but the notion occurred to me of a sort of bleak-comic, alternative ending for it. I miss and love you both deeply. xxx

Leave a Reply

