Pepper’s Ghost

I saw him, and so died: all purpose froze,
The heart held tight. But thought of fear can banish
Visions; and when I spoke the image rose,
Only to vanish.

Though lips were flesh, his words could scarce surpass
Perfection of a simple sort, and lonely,
Profound as a mirror: one sheet of silvered glass,
Reflection only.

Don’t worry if he’s simply beautiful. It’s a stage trick.

One thought on “Pepper’s Ghost

  1. Lovely poem, I had an encounter with something I belive was a ghost I’ll be writing a blog about it soon if you’re interested! If you have a spare moment please take a look at my blog x

    Sophia xx

Leave a Reply

