The Nothing on the Stair

 

shadow on the stair

 

I cannot… I refuse, to be alone:

And so, aloneness makes a game of me.

Drawing curtains for the sake of my

Vacant living room, dead living room,

Abandoned shoes, lost toys, discarded things,

Even the lamplight’s still, and yet somewhere

Else, I know there’s something just outside,

Outside this house, so close I cannot breathe

For it hearing me… until at once, it’s in.

The nothing in the hallway threatens me.

A silence from our room, enough to turn

My neck, lingered like someone near the stairs

And I daren’t go down there, now…

 

 

I’m not afraid of being alone: I enjoy peace, quiet and solitude. But I am eternally and utterly terrified of not being alone, after all. 

Leave a Reply

