Taken

Sublime poetry from Jac Green.

Awkward Silence

In rooms we had shared;
the space dividing and uniting us
cigarette smoke permeating every surface
and drifting through our conversation
The single gesture of your hand,
like a lazy comma, pauses me in freeze frame
And so I remain, at your will,

silent, still, waiting for your command

My life on hold so that you may live yours
Our breath, our hearts in sync
And when you take it you take it all
Until the words are dragged, unwilling and broken from my lips
“I know that you loved me once”

View original post

Leave a Reply

