End of an Affair

 

It has been sweet: and nothing is so sweet

As sorrow. So I shall dwell in yearning, now,

And tomorrow, every day; without regret.

 

I know that I will fail to sleep, alone:

Re-enacting in my mind, those self-same motions

Clinging in my very hands what we have done.

 

I will itch for us. I will twitch and heave my chest,

Indulge in pain, lose patience at the thought

Of the next five seconds, and the next, and the next.

 

So one long, last goodbye. I hold you now

As I always held you, tenderly, and bring my lips

Into your breath, your touch; and even so

 

I hope it’s over. Let it linger, yet:

As I let the lights die out, now and forever,

The last life of my final cigarette.

 

 

“This time I mean it.” And I meant it, every time before now, too. 

Leave a Reply

