Stir

 

To grace upon my neck a silent prayer,

Most gentle weight; how little to unmake

A man, your voiceless word, to have me there,

To have my heart and very presence shake.

 

Inciting me with ease desirous, such

To pour me out like silk upon your bed;

Unravel and unweave your whispered touch

To please your lilac colours, fine as thread;

 

My lips part, that I breathe that voiceless word

Into these tender urgencies: I cry

For mercy, overcome by you who stirred

This agony of touch to glorify;

 

Can’t dare to breathe, that silken word unsaid,

Your lilac touch that had me here to die.

 

 

For Blair. 

Leave a Reply

