Dress Me In Autumn – The Oak’s Lament

 

Dress me in autumn: and from my once-proud boughs

Drape shrouds of gold. Cut tatters in my robe;

Rip leaves to tassels, unclothe me of my riches;

Expose my trunk and torso to their forms

And see my posture borne to wretched cold.

My colours – my true, my earnest colours – they

Must be dipped in turpentine, so that their dyes

Might run and coalesce, like watermarks

Which blot the oil painting of my summer.

The darks hues run; though my old, knotted legs

Are rheumatoid to stillness and the ague

Of life’s own age. So dress me in this season,

And watch this season wear me to my bones.

 

 

Hard to tell whether I was writing in the voice of a tree, an old man, or Treebeard. 

One thought on “Dress Me In Autumn – The Oak’s Lament

Leave a Reply

