Half rhymes

I keep coming back to this old one and crying to myself because I am awful like that.

Palimpsest

Half rhymes on a distant love: variation on an ode.

If words must be my lips, I’ll speak to you,

And covet you with whispers to the skin.

Though this may be the kiss that just won’t do,

It must do ’til then.

If memories are hands, remove the glove:

And let me glide the wonders of your face

With gentlest touch. Though this is not the love

That stands so close,

If distance is the passion, send me far

And wide away, to will that passion great:

If absence is the fondest, I won’t fear

That furthest place,

And if words must be my lips, I’ll write them slow,

And covet them like whispers to your skin.

Though this may be the kiss that just won’t do,

It must do ’til then.

I do love a good ode don’t I? This is really about the conflict between a…

View original post 102 more words

One thought on “Half rhymes

  1. I keep coming back to this one too. It’s very satisfying in a literary way. Xx Gran

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

