Couplets Written for a Young Man

 

I wonder, what manner of creature am I:

Animal, human, dead or alive.

Am I conscious, inanimate, gentle or harsh;

Am I part of the future, or part of the past?

Was I angel? Or demon? A guest of a host?

Will I one day be everything, nothing or ghost?

Am I crowned in the mind, or the heart, or the soul?

Do I most feel what’s shown to me, or that which is told?

Will I grow older, or shall I be young;

Is this life of mine over, or has it begun?

Of the secrets I’m keeping, the one which I know

Is the closest, the one which wherever I go

I keep with me: I’m yours. Only you understand.

What is truly the manner of creature I am.
 

For Blair
 

2 thoughts on “Couplets Written for a Young Man

Leave a Reply

