Strength

 

Strength was never a characteristic

Which, given due consideration as I hid

From the branch of a low tree,

As a child, applied to me.

 

Later, the ways we walked together, and strange

People I encountered, down umber alleyways,

Meant me to seek a softer, a lost space.

It was always better, to be held.

 

And so you raised in me the desire

To be like you, to more wildly wander:

And be like you? But then, as you grinned

So sideways at me: it never did transpire.

 

And so I must learn

To unlearn you, and every habit

You placed in my hand like a plaything

To preoccupy and idly concern.

 

The hands, not to shake for another

Cigarette; the lips, unbitten;

The mind to bring to bear the life

That, thanks to you, I have not yet written.

 

I will unlearn you. I have, if not strength,

At least something more gentle, and more delicate,

Something you can never learn from me.

You will see this different strength from me, yet.

One thought on “Strength

Leave a Reply

