My Challenge

 

I rarely go in for all of this sort of thing but after the glorious Nailya nominated me I could hardly so no. This is where I pour a bucket of ice-cold embarrassment over myself and – that’s right – list the ten books which have influenced or “stayed with me” the most throughout my increasingly-long time on this sickening and horrendous planet. Not “the best” per se but the ones which have shaped me most. I’ve stuck to fiction because including poetry, plays or nonfiction would lead to fatal indecision. Less of that. More of this.

1) The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. Sexy damn book.
2) The Waves by Virginia Woolf. An immersive read. (Sorry.)
3) Liver by Will Self. Bloody weird short fiction, good to dip into.
4) Reginald in Russia by Saki / H H Munro – especially “Gabriel-Ernest”. Delicious short fiction, do have a taste.
5) Tender is the Night by F Scott Fitzgerald. So beautiful your face falls off.
6) The Liar by Stephen Fry. I wish he was my uncle.
7) Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. Because even I still believe in magic.
8) A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess. Real horroshow.
9) Catch 22 by Joseph Heller. Laugh-out-loud, and then cry for humanity.
10 ) The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov. The definition of a good read.

I recommend all of these, and nominate Blair Reeves, Edward GreenwoodLauren Cowling, Emma Frudd and Jac Green to share with me, and everyone else in fact, the books that made them, them.

And I would invite you all to make your own lists, and of course, to let me know. 

Leave a Reply

