Deep Trouble

 

Deep Trouble: A Ghost Ship’s Song to the Siren

 

Cast astride a bay of lovestruck blue,

Wide oceans riding, sailing such grey seas,

Deep is my hull, and deeper still my rue;

Steeper still the blue of my safe ease;

Yet deeper is my trouble, still, so deep

And dark that not a grain of sun sails through.

Awash with trouble, drifting in sound sleep

In love; yet not a doubt assails you.

I should know better. I should await me better,

Keep better watch than fall on such keen rocks

Of you. I drown, and deeper still, and wetter,

Agasp in drowning – deep trouble, and steep shocks,

Cold wash of running water, lured in: so I weep

Salt tears for my sweet love so dark and deep.

Leave a Reply

