Children in the Arboretum

 

And do I learn, or remember, innocence?

A brother and a sister laid themselves

On fresh-mown memories one afternoon.

After a leap-frogged time, full cried of joy

Rolled green with grass, they toyed their little way.

Bench-prone, I spied them there, a little off:

By the pleasant slope of the rolling lawn

They slept like creatures over one another,

And collapsed atop, to gaze at a quiet sky,

Her hair lain across his face with tenderness,

As only sisters shall.

I sat awhile

Some distance in between that scene, and mine.

The distance, I remember: and the time.

And do I learn, or remember, innocence?

 

 

I am a heartless monster. But I saw some children playing in the park today, and frankly, it melted my heart. 

Leave a Reply

