Grandmother’s unfinished watercolours

 

I’m no expert – but I can find the perfect ring

Of grey, where the daylight-moon of a jam jar base

Left its watermark, to the northeast region of her sky.

 

Authenticated: it was hers, alright,

As sure as the paper is rough, as she was rough;

As sure as it smells of oak.

 

I can make out, through failing eyes, the highlights

Of a hedgerow, with dark lines, branches black;

Fenced out, some bold outlines in residual ink,

 

And a stone wall which dissolves as

Whole pieces were stolen over years, or washed with rain

As it recedes to an inexact distance;

 

I am no expert on this. But I knew her, once.

 

I see an untrained hand but a good sense at least

Of the colours, the movement of those arthritic trees

Bearing still that element of green; and yet

 

It is not entirely coloured. To the northwest corner

Areas of field are not remembered; leaves are misplaced;

Sadly, a good amount of view is washed out;

 

And the sky,

Like all blue things, fades to white.

 

I wrote this for my college publication, The Dial, back when I was still at university all of nine months ago. I am glad to say that it is based on no relative of mine; although the subject matter is so delicately tragic that I can barely bring myself to read it anymore. 

Leave a Reply

